Splasm Software Discussions

a user community for the betterment of Splasmkind
It is currently Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:57 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Archive function?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:50 pm
Posts: 3
Is there an Archive function similar to what is in MS money? I did not find it in help. Other than that, I am very pleased with Checkbook.
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:04 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:19 pm
Posts: 539
Location: Here and There
Not yet, but that will change. CheckBook 2.0 will allow users to create subfolders within each Account so everyone can archive at will.

_________________
Keith Gugliotto
Primordial Sea Captain
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com

Follow us on Twitter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 2:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:50 pm
Posts: 3
Thank you for the reply. When will ver 2 be available and a what cost? I just purchased Checkbook last week.

Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 3:04 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:19 pm
Posts: 539
Location: Here and There
We're working to bring out CheckBook 2.0 in the next few months.

Pricing is not yet set but users who registered before 9/1/2006 will receive a 25-33% discount and users who registered on or after 9/1/2006 will receive a completely free upgrade.

_________________
Keith Gugliotto
Primordial Sea Captain
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com

Follow us on Twitter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:50 pm
Posts: 3
Thank you again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 2:38 am
Posts: 45
keithg wrote:
We're working to bring out CheckBook 2.0 in the next few months.

Pricing is not yet set but users who registered before 9/1/2006 will receive a 25-33% discount and users who registered on or after 9/1/2006 will receive a completely free upgrade.


Sounds great, Just a quick question ~ is that the 9th January as in New Zealand, Australia and the UK etc or the 1st September?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:58 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:19 pm
Posts: 539
Location: Here and There
1st September. We're in the US ;).

_________________
Keith Gugliotto
Primordial Sea Captain
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com

Follow us on Twitter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:18 pm
Posts: 383
You CAN (sort of) save last years checkbook by filtering for Last... >year and then exporting the found items to text or QIF files. The first question is why you can't export to Checkbook format -- that would certainly do it, and the second is that the QIF file doesn't open in my Quicken anyway.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 5:26 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:19 pm
Posts: 539
Location: Here and There
When we designed CheckBook 1.0 we didn't foresee that some users would prefer to remove subsets of their Accounts, temporarily or permanently, from view. The current interface reflects this, with a slant toward Filters instead of Folders and no support for exporting to CheckBook's native data format. We brought in QIF export after the QIF import feature, so the code was already in place to read the data written by the new export feature. We need to have a way to read the data back in before we can make an export feature available, but that's not the case with the native data format because CheckBook was designed to read its own data in a ground-up situation, such as when launching the application, instead of à la carte or impromptu. There are some logistics there, particularly around how Transfer links would be preserved, that we haven't taken the time to hash out.

We haven't seen CheckBook's QIF output fail to load properly in Quicken, barring some of Quicken's limitations. Can you tell us which version of Quicken you have there and whether you receive an error from it while loading CheckBook's QIF?

_________________
Keith Gugliotto
Primordial Sea Captain
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com

Follow us on Twitter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:18 pm
Posts: 383
Sorry, I'm an idiot. I eventually realized that I had to open a NEW Quicken file and then import it. It looks just fine now.

I had just tried to click on the exported file, which didn't do zip.

Well, I'm waiting for the new version so I can set up my auto deposits easier.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group