Splasm Software Discussions

a user community for the betterment of Splasmkind
It is currently Sat Aug 15, 2020 4:21 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:52 am
Posts: 56
Location: Nether-lands
Is it possible to have two copies of Audiobook builder open at once on the same computer to work one multiple projects at the same time?

And also have them export at the same time?
(so i can for instance start a couple encodings when going to bed/school.)

Maybe a though for a new version; a progress window in which the audiobooks that are being Build process will be visible, and can be queued, so you can start working on the next when you have started building one.

_________________
-153957 Photography-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 5:03 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 11:19 pm
Posts: 543
Location: Here and There
Technically, you can have multiple copies running simultaneously. The temporary file handling is structured so it will work fine from multiple copies, even on separate Macs building to the same folder across a network.

Supporting a queue that can be modified while Projects are created or modified at the same time in the same application is not really a practical path for us right now. It can be done, but it would be easiest to restructure the application into two parts - a front end for modifying Projects and an invisible back end for building them. There's complexity there that can be managed but will still take time to do so. We'll consider it a long-term project.

Thanks for the request!

_________________
Keith Gugliotto
Primordial Sea Captain
Splasm Software
http://www.splasm.com

Follow us on Twitter!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:52 am
Posts: 56
Location: Nether-lands
Ok,
I just started building some more of my audiobooks, and since when Im building one it takes about 60% of each of my processor i duplicated AB and it now takes about 100%, so its faster then just running one, and since they didnt start at the same time i can start configuring one while the other is still building.

Thanks for the program! :P

_________________
-153957 Photography-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 9:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:52 am
Posts: 56
Location: Nether-lands
it works fine 8)
I once saved a project with my default encoding settings (without any files in it, to save space)
Then duplicated it saveral times, and also duplicated Audiobook Builder application.
Then changed the 'Open With' of each project to another copy of Audiobook Builder
Now when I want to make some books I just open all the projects, and type in the title(s), drop in the files, make the audiobook(s).. at the same time..
And when done I dont save the projects, or I would get massive project files :)
Image

Oh, one request; Could you make an option to 'not copy sound files into project file' but simply use the originals on their location, I assume nothing more then a simple copy is being preformed when audio files are put in the project files, and since I dont move the originals during the creation of a book it just cost me time and some temporary space.
(If you were to implement this you should of course add a warning not to move the originals until you are done with that particular book.)


(and could you change the default Genre to Audiobook, (no s on the end))



edit: THANKS!!! :wink:

_________________
-153957 Photography-


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group