Splasm Software Discussions

a user community for the betterment of Splasmkind
It is currently Thu Dec 05, 2019 4:13 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:40 am
Posts: 4
I use Audiobook Builder (AB) to rip audio CDs I get from the library to iTunes, and it fits the bill perfectly. I think I might categorize the problem I have as cosmetic, but I'd still like to know what's happening.

More often than not, especially after I've inserted a new CD, I can't get the program dialog box to display. The menu bar displays, showing that AB should be in the foreground, but it may take a minute for it to display. The CD continues to RIP in the background, and the icon in both the Dock and the Alt-Tab choice of programs shows the progress indicator correctly.

I have a late-model MBP with an I5 processor and 8 GB of RAM, with an NVIDIA 330M and the Intel built-in chipset. I'm running the current build of AB.

Thanks for your explanation of why this occurs, and hopefully, how to overcome it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:17 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 12:19 am
Posts: 532
Location: Prescott, WI, USA
I was doing some testing earlier today in regards to app switching while importing CDs and could not duplicate what you were seeing. The only time I could not get the app window to display when switching back to Audiobook Builder was if the main window was minimized in the dock, which is expected behavior. Is there anything else happening on your mac that would cause CPU slowdown or lag when switching between applications?

_________________
Randy Knoble
Splasm Software
www.Splasm.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:40 am
Posts: 4
It's possible, but the behavior only happens with AB. All other apps behave normally. As I said in my first post, this is a pretty tricked-up Mac, with 8 GB. There's plenty of memory, disk space, etc. that there shouldn't be that level of contention for CPU time.

The next time I RIP something I'll use Activity Monitor and report back with what I find.

Thanks for trying to track it down.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group