Splasm Software Discussions

a user community for the betterment of Splasmkind
It is currently Mon Dec 16, 2019 12:04 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:08 pm
Posts: 2
I've been using iTunes for years to get sound into AB with never a problem. In the last year I've been using the program's own cd import feature more and more as it's much simpler. However, with some audiobooks I've began to notice hiccups in the playing of the content, along with seriously slow import times for certain cds. Yes, I have iTunes set to NOT import. Is it possible for AB to get a read error on a cd and not report it to me? Is there a log file I should look at? I really don't want to go back to iTunes for import, but I also don't like the playback errors!

Thanks!

Chuck


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:54 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 12:19 am
Posts: 532
Location: Prescott, WI, USA
Chuck,

Audiobook Builder may still have trouble with dirty, scratched or damaged CDs no matter how you spin it. iTunes may do a better job getting through those CDs, but audio or data loss may still occur in those sections where the data is unreadable. The best advice I can think of is to make sure your CDs are smudge and dirt free before ripping and if you have a CD that looks damaged, try using iTunes to rip it if Audiobook Builder is having trouble.

_________________
Randy Knoble
Splasm Software
www.Splasm.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 12:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:08 pm
Posts: 2
Randy K. wrote:
Chuck,

Audiobook Builder may still have trouble with dirty, scratched or damaged CDs no matter how you spin it. iTunes may do a better job getting through those CDs, but audio or data loss may still occur in those sections where the data is unreadable. The best advice I can think of is to make sure your CDs are smudge and dirt free before ripping and if you have a CD that looks damaged, try using iTunes to rip it if Audiobook Builder is having trouble.


Thanks, Randy. Is it true that AB will get notification of unsuccessful reads? Can we have access to this notification somehow? It would be nice to know in advance that the reading process is less than perfect for a particular cd. You can sort of tell, because the rip takes longer, but a rock to look under would be nice.

Chuck


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 1:01 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 12:19 am
Posts: 532
Location: Prescott, WI, USA
if there is a major failure, Audiobook Builder will report an error for you to see. Unfortunately if there are hiccups, we do not see these errors so nothing will be reported. I am unsure if iTunes will report these smaller read errors either.

_________________
Randy Knoble
Splasm Software
www.Splasm.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group